Home » Fun Stuff » Contest Entry » Daylight Savings Time

Daylight Savings Time

Timmy knew exactly what to do. He just had to turn the big hand on the clock backwards. Grandpa called it ‘Daylight Savings Time’.

He prodded the clock in the kitchen with a broom, until it fell down. Relief crashed through him when the clock remained intact. He picked it up and slowly spun the big hand. He paused for a moment. Had it worked?

He peered into the living room. His mother was passed out drunk on the sofa. Was she like that before he took the clock? He couldn’t remember. He usually took care not to disturb her as he navigated around the bottles strewn about the floor but today his mind was racing in a million directions.

As he sprinted to the hallway, he let the bottles fall where they may. He didn’t even think twice about how much trouble he was going to be in for letting their mouths drip beer and wet ash all over his grandmother’s oriental rug.

Apprehensiveness crept up on him as he grabbed the bathroom doorknob. He slowly opened the door and felt his heart wrench with disappointment. His sister was just as he had found her. He hadn’t turned back time at all.

“I’m sorry,” he whispered and stroked her tiny, blue hand.

A small rubber duck.

This flash fiction was written for this week’s Trifecta Writing Challenge. This week they are looking for stories or poems from 33 – 333 words in length that feature the word: mouth. Not just any definition of the word will do though. Only the third definition shown below is accepted.

MOUTH

1a : the natural opening through which food passes into the body of an animal and which in vertebrates is typically bounded externally by the lips and internally by the pharynx and encloses the tongue, gums, and teeth
b : grimace <made a mouth>
c : an individual requiring food <had too many mouths to feed>
2a : voice, speech <finally gave mouth to her feelings>
b : mouthpiece
3: something that resembles a mouth especially in affording entrance or exit: as
  a : the place where a stream enters a larger body of water
  b : the surface opening of an underground cavity
  c : the opening of a container
  d : an opening in the side of an organ flue pipeSo, are you up for the challenge? If so, get to writing and then link up your work at the website above. Hope to see your story or poem there!

60 thoughts on “Daylight Savings Time

    • Thank you for your thoughts. I’m really pleased this story has tugged on people’s heart strings. It means I’m doing something right with my writing. 🙂 Have a lovely evening and thanks for taking the time to stop by and read.

  1. Heartbreaking story. The setback of the clock is exactly how a child would think. I thought for sure it was going to be his mom died or something…didn’t expect the sister. (I love it when a story proves me wrong :))

    • “I love it when a story proves me wrong”
      I love twist endings that I didn’t guess beforehand too. I’ve seen quite a few of them with this group and the friday fictioneers. The writers here are evidently better than the script writers for Hollywood because I always guess those twists way before the finish line.

    • “And the innocence of the child. So nicely portrayed!” Well, he was very young and having young kids made me realize just how crazy some of their ideas can get. I guess when we still believe magic is real, anything is possible.

    • If only time travel were so easy… actually, it’s probably best if it weren’t. I can only imagine the ways in which some psychopaths would exploit such a thing. it would be sheer chaos. *shudders*

  2. Nice blend of cute and deadly, childish and heroic. Wonderfully conveyed setup also in placement of Grandpa, Mom and Sis. Touché.

    [A technical opinion, if you don’t mind. “around” and “about” so close in the 2rd p jarred my reading. Also, bottles falling “where they may” didn’t sound right, but that might be me. fall where they would?]

    • That you for the constructive criticism. I do appreciate that type of feedback even more than I do “great story!” as this type of feedback helps me grow as a writer.

      “around” and “about” so close in the 2rd p jarred my reading.
      I’m not entirely sure why that would be jarring. I’m definitely not the queen of grammar (my grammar kinda sucks, honestly). Is there some rule that I ignorantly butchered?

      The bottles falling where they may was taken from the idiom: Let the chips fall where they may. http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/let_the_chips_fall_where_they_may

      Thanks for reading 🙂

    • ” I literally gasped out loud at work when I read the last line.” Really? I guess I must be doing something right with my writing if I can elicit such an emotional reaction. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my little story 🙂

  3. My heart broke for little Timmy-a very touching tale!I hate such irresponsible parents-they do not deserve to have kids!

    A beautifully written piece,great concept of time travel,kudos to your creativity:-)

  4. I love your narrative voice, even while I’m wincing from the impact of the last image. Your child’s voice is young and innocent without being dumbed down. Not as easy as people think to get that balance.

  5. Pingback: Is Bliss the Whole Truth? | On the Homefront

Add Your Story or Comment

