Home » Flash Fiction » Ridicule – Ten Word Story

Ridicule – Ten Word Story

Call me stupid again and I’ll slice out your tongue.

Angry cat is angry

I’ve never been one to take ridicule very well.ย  However, it’s not that the words themselves bother me like they used to back when I was a child. I no longer have such thin skin. What irks me is the audacity that people have to think they can treat people so contemptuously and not even give a second thought to how their words might affect someone.

How do you handle ridicule? Does it make you upset or does it all just kinda roll right off your back? Can you tell me your story about ridicule in ten words or less? I know you can! Be sure to tell me all about it in the comments section.

13 thoughts on “Ridicule – Ten Word Story

  1. I don’t handle it well at all. I was just having a conversation with someone at work the other day about why people feel like they can get away with anything. I’m just not sure where some people get their nerve.

    • “why people feel like they can get away with anything” I know. The nastiest people tend to get shocked when called on their behavior as though they think they are entitled to behave however they wish without any repercussions whatsoever. It’s insane.

      • I don’t come across ridicule that often, but when I do, I find if you make the person giving out the ridicule feel that you find their attempt at humiliation a bit of a giggle, it kind of takes the power from under them, very fast! Never fails!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • It used to hurt me really bad when I was a teenager when I’d get ridiculed for my weight by everybody, even my own Dad. I used to play it off like it didn’t bother me and then come home and take a razor blade to my skin. People can be so mean for such stupid reasons.

  2. Hi,

    You have brought to the table an aspect which hinders progress in our lives.

    If I may ask, what is at the core of the ridicule that affects you? Is it something about you or the perpetrator?

    You have mentioned ridicule no longer effects you as much as you have developed a “thick skin” to such affronts.But is this really the solution to handling external barbs? So does it mean that we constantly look around to see the nature of ridicule coming towards us and accordingly keep on adding more layers to our skin? Till we get slowed down in life by the sheer weight of baggage we are carrying?

    If we could shift our perspective to see that the ridicule is something about the perpetrator, about his own inner dissonance, about his need to prove his superiority, how could we handle the situation?

    Cheers

    Shakti

    • “If I may ask, what is at the core of the ridicule that affects you? Is it something about you or the perpetrator?” Thanks for the thoughtful reply. It used to be something about me. I grew up in an emotionally abusive household and had no self-esteem as a kid. Every time someone would do say something negative about me I would internalize it. I would use it as proof that I was correct in my low assessment of myself.

      I learned to come to peace with myself a long time ago. Now when people say such things I have a wall up that keeps their words from getting to me but that wall does not block me from feeling anger when someone attempts to hurt me with words. I don’t take kindly to such attacks upon my person.

  3. Once you’ve established that it is ridicule, and not simply criticism, I find it’s much easier to simply let it slide. If it has no creative or constructive purpose, it’s just words.

    • “If it has no creative or constructive purpose, itโ€™s just words.” Absolutely, the words themselves are irrelevant at that point but the difference between you and I is that I think the intent of the person speaking such things still matters.

Add Your Story or Comment

