Home » Fun Stuff » Music Soothes My Soul

Music Soothes My Soul

Today’s daily prompt asks: What role does music play in your life?

When I am upset, I find listening to songs chocked full of angst or anger (like something by Korn) really satisfies me. It helps channel my negativity into something that’s not destructive. I have a tendency to tear myself down when feeling down. Thank goodness for music!

If my life had a theme song this would be it. The first time I heard it, I was instantly floored that it captured a daily reoccurring thought of mine and put some kick arse music to it.:

What is your favorite song?

9 thoughts on “Music Soothes My Soul

  1. I don’t think I have a favourite song. The trouble is I like so much music and so many types of music it would be impossible for me to narrow it down! But there is one song that always stands out in my memory, not because it’s the best song, but because it was the first time I remember hearing a song on the radio and wondering in my own mind who was the band that were singing it – Heart Of Glass by Blondie. I had always relied on my older brother to tell me about music, what was in the charts, but that time my 12 year old mind decided for herself what she liked. And when I finally saw Blondie on the TV, lovely Debbie Harry doing her thing, that was it, I wanted to go blonde! I still play it now, every now and then, try to feel 12 again! But I never did go blonde – it wouldn’t suit me!! 😀

  2. There are so many songs I love and my list would change depending on my mood. If I had to chose one song today it would be Losing My Religion by REM. Or Stairway to Heaven by Led Zepplin. Or Mean Streets by Van Halen. Or Scenes from an Italian Resturant by Billy Joel. Or..well you get the idea!

  3. I agree. What’s life without music. My favorite songs are ones that have a beautiful melody and outstanding words. The Indigo Girls have amazing words in their songs. They’ve been around for awhile. Do you like any of their songs?

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  5. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Murdering It On Karaoke Night” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Add Your Story or Comment

