Home » Fun Stuff » Shipwrecked

Shipwrecked

Today on the daily prompt they ask: Read the story of Richard Parker and Tom Dudley. Is what Dudley did defensible?

Sketch of English bark Mignonette by Tom Dudle...

What would you have done?
When it comes to the ethics of cannibalism I must admit, I am hardly a walking encyclopedia of knowledge. Yet, I believe eating a person who does not give you consent to do so is most likely a breach of ethics. It’s my understanding that ethics and morals are codes of conduct that help individuals to coexist within a group dynamic. However, how useful would such a directive be if the entire group were to be wiped out as a result of it?

I believe ethics sometimes need to be tempered with practicality. I think if I were in the position those men were I’d also see the futility of letting a dying man flounder in limbo as we all slowly die of thirst and hunger. If that makes me a heartless person, so be it. At least I am an honest, heartless person.

5 thoughts on “Shipwrecked

  1. Honest heartless person.
    Yes, I was having a discussion with a co worker about this today.
    I’m cool with ya if you are a self pronounced narcissist or ass hole. We can be buddies, then. At least then, I know they are real and, well, honest

    • I *can* be a bit of a bitch at times. I’ll admit it. I’m also really analytical and can look at things in an objective way which makes some people think I am cold until they see my temper. I’m every bit as hot blooded as any other lass with Irish and Italian blood running through her veins.

  2. Pingback: Situational Ethics – To Kill Or Not To Kill | Tony's Texts

Add Your Story or Comment

