Home » Fun Stuff » Contest Entry » The Fat Girl’s Reclamation

The Fat Girl’s Reclamation

You demand I cover up every inch,
behind heavy layers of dull fabrics;
to eat a stale crouton for dinner
and embrace hunger pains as penance.

You expect me to act asexual,
as if I were not fully human;
loathe my body and disfigure it
crusading for unattainable perfection.

But I’m not here to please you
nor feed your idiotic delusions;
reinforcing countless stereotypes
you cling to like a spoiled child.

I won’t allow my weight define me
and I’ll continue to survive
without your seal of approval.
I like me as I am. Get over it.

Big Ladies

This poem was written as a part of this week’s new writing challenge over at trifectawritingchallenge.com. The word prompt this week is: Survive. The task at hand is to craft something awesome between 33 and 333 words in length that features the word survive in the sense of continuing on or prospering despite hardships.

Survival is the name of the game when it comes to life on this planet. It’s something we’ve all seen or experienced in one form or another. Get those creative juices flowing and join in the fun by clicking the link above before time runs out for new entries!

35 thoughts on “The Fat Girl’s Reclamation

  1. This is a great poem and a great message. Immediately reminded me of this song:

    Enjoy, and Happy New Year! 🙂

      • That’s a great song. So happy. Such a contrast to the messages of today’s media, body image, and the way people view fat women. If only more people were as accepting as this. This is such a happy song. Makes me smile. Your poem also made me think of this song here:

    • Thanks. Glad you liked the end. I wasn’t sure which phrase to use to end it. I had several I played with but settled on that one. There was another I liked more but I thought that the swearing might have taken away from some of the positivity so I gave it the axe.

      • I think u did it perfectly & yes,u r right swear words may have made it look a lil “spiteful”-if u know wht I mean:-)Good thinking!

  2. Being comfortable in our skin is essential for being happy. I like the ending, and for me, I can substitute my pale skin for the weight and it applies perfectly. I’ve spent my whole life with people telling me I need to get a tan. Ugh!

    • Oh my goodness. Yeah, I have pale skin too. All my life I’ve had people call me a vampire and other oh so NOT clever little jabs. I don’t tan. I burn. If I burn enough, I get a little tan but is it worth it? Heck no.

  3. YES! Your story resonates with me SO damned strongly. I’m in the middle of a health related weight loss sojourn. I refuse to be starving. I refuse to exercise to oblivion. I refuse to repudiate my body as it is right now. And yet as I change, I also allow myself to embrace my new shell, knowing that my body is not my self, though it controls a hell of a lot about me.

  4. Fantastic writing, and thanks for sticking up for us plus size girls. 😀 I’m working on losing weight right now, not because I don’t love big me (because I do), but for health reasons… God bless you!

    Cheryl

  5. Powerful writing 🙂 Good choice of words – Reclamation… Taking it back.

    My fav part was

    But I’m not here to please you
    nor feed your idiotic delusions;
    reinforcing countless stereotypes
    you cling to like a spoiled child.

    And the imagery of the people that you’re speaking to. Can see them as insular, needy drones – they are the ones who need to take back something…whatever it is that led them to judge first for fear of being judged last.

    • the reclamation part was important to me. I used to be a huge people pleaser. I would try my hardest to fit in, to make everyone else happy, at my own expense. I spent years trying all sorts of diets so that I could slim down and finally be considered pretty, lovable, and worthwhile by society at large.

      It took me a long time to realize that I needed to take back my life and start living it for me.

  6. Fantastic work – calls out the failures of many people to push past redundant social barriers. Powerful message and delivery!

    • Redundant is right! Glad you enjoyed this poem. It was definitely therapeutic to write but I wasn’t sure if it was going to flop or not. I am really pleased that people seem to understand the sentiments behind it. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  7. Unattainable perfection – I like that phrase. You know what bothers me? Vanity sizing. What’s wrong with being a size 10 or even a 14? Why do we need to drop it down to an ‘unattainable’ size for our body? I like the attitude of your piece. Yes, get over it.

    • Vanity sizing makes it IMPOSSIBLE to shop online. You never know what you are going to get. It really irks me too cause I’ve seen some cute stuff but I don’t want the extra hassle if it doesn’t fit right.

Add Your Story or Comment

