Home » Fun Stuff » Contest Entry » The Fire Ritual

The Fire Ritual

The demon resides within but I still retain my soul. Fire will purify my flesh down to the bone. Death will release me. The pilot is on. All I need is a match.  

Lighting a match. Français : Une allumette enf...

Over at trifectawritingchallenge.com they are holding a neat writing challenge this weekend. They are looking for compelling 33 word stories about expelling demons. Are you up for the challenge? Then hop over to the blog above before the entry period closes!

 

25 thoughts on “The Fire Ritual

    • Why, thank you. To be honest, it’s not exactly where I wanted it to be but at 33 lines it is just enough to give a teaser without offering any real meat. It can be a challenge to jam enough descriptive language in to really bring life to one’s concepts. I can live with what’s there though.

      BTW, best of luck with your own entry. It was well done. 🙂

    • Thank you very much. I am happy so many people liked this wee tale. I’ve done 6, 10, and 55 but this is my first 33 word story. The length felt a little challenging to me but that’s always a good thing. It gives the brain a little workout.

    • Well this is a story about an actual demon. I could not bring to write about my inner demons since they and myself have long ago ended our battles, made a peace treaty, and now join me for tea and crumpets for brunch. I didn’t want to dredge all that up again. Plus, I don’t think I could discuss it in 33 words. I’m simply not that good. 😉

      • Oh..!Well,if u & your demons have ended your battles,its definitely better to let bygones be bygones;-)Btw,no “discussion” can take place in 33 words,lol!

    • Thank you! I think this is the shortest horror story I’ve ever written. Most of my others are somewhere between drabbles and flash fiction in length. As I have said to others, it was hard leaving out some of the meat that I really wanted to jam in there. At the end of the day, there simply was no place for it.

  1. You can run but you can’t hide,
    Chasing you from deep inside,
    Darkness can’t exist in light,
    Daytime is the time to fight,
    Darkest hour before the dawn,
    Fallen rise to carry on.

    Gave it a shot its harder than it looks. Great site, great content, I’m a believer.

Add Your Story or Comment

