Home » Fiction » Christmas

Christmas

I left cookies for Santa. I saw mommy eat them.

Santa and me
When I was using public transportation the other day, a teenage boy struck up a conversation with me. He was going home from college to visit his folks. He seemed quite jittery and anxious. Somehow, we ended up on the subject of how we learned there was no Santa.

I had gotten up to use the bathroom and watched my mom put the presents under the tree. That is how I found out it was all make believe. He watched his mom drink the milk and finish off the cookies they put out for Santa. The next morning she showed him the empty plate as proof that Santa had come.

What made you realize that Santa wasn’t real? Can you tell the tale in ten words? All your wonderful stories about Christmas are welcome in the comments section.

11 thoughts on “Christmas

      • Honestly, I can’t remember a time when I honestly believed in Santa. I mean, I’m sure I did at some point, but when I think back to my childhood, all I remember is opening presents from “Santa” and saying, “Woo! Santa! Thanks for the awesome present!” and secretly thinking, “Thanks Mom!”

      • I was fanciful too … I guess the difference is that while I loved thinking about magical things, I didn’t actually believe they were real. Although you can probably imagine how much I wished they were real 🙂

Add Your Story or Comment

